Alcoa Skills Summit

For more information contact Kelly Cozart at (812) 429-9884

Hear Options at the Alcoa Skills Summit
9 a.m.-1 p.m.
Friday, June 10, 2016
Hosted by Ivy Tech Community College
3501 N. 1st Avenue, Evansville

At the Summit, tour Ivy Tech labs and classrooms, and talk with individuals from Ivy
Tech, other area colleges, businesses, and others in the region
about opportunities available to you.

Ongoing Activities
Employment Services, meetings with Academic Areas of Study Including Technology, Business, Health Sciences, Public & Social Services, Education, Basic Skills Classes, meetings with WorkOne Southwest & GRADD, and meetings with Colleges, Businesses, Libraries, & Apprenticeship Programs

Workshop Sessions
10 a.m., 10:45 a.m., 11:30 a.m.       Helping Children Cope with a Layoff
10 a.m., 10:45 a.m., 11:30 a.m.       Financial Management
10 a.m., 11 a.m.                                 Student Success
10 a.m., 11 a.m.                                 Prior Learning Assessment
10 a.m., 11 a.m.                                 Demystifying Placement Accuplacer

Can You go to College Now? See What Others Say…

When Whirlpool left Evansville, it left in its wake hundreds of employees who had to decide their next steps for their future.
Here are a few who came to Ivy Tech:

After 19 ½ years at Whirlpool, Natalie Ford said she and her husband both lost
their jobs. Now she is a supervisor at DSM Manufacturing. “It was very scary. I was
43. I thought, ‘who is going to want to hire a 43-year-old?’ But I learned that my
age made me more disciplined. I knew I had to do this to get a better paying job,
and I took it more seriously – graduating with a 3.87 GPA! I make more money
now than I ever did or would have at Whirlpool.”
Natalie Ford, May 2013 graduate

Roger Conrad was in one of the first groups of Whirlpool employees who were laid off. He came to Ivy Tech with many of his co-workers and an idea to get an education degree. That ended up not being a viable option – and he instead pursued an Associate in Criminal Justice. He was a member of the National Honor Society Phi Theta Kappa while at Ivy Tech. And, his love for teaching was fueled when his professors would often tell other students in his classes to turn to him for study skill tips or tutoring. He said his degree definitely made a difference for him. After graduating, he was hired as a substitute teacher – where he has remained ever since. “I’m glad I did it. I have three or four folders of letters and pictures from kids saying I am the best!” he said. “The path that I took was the best one that worked for me. It was a rewarding, insightful move and something that affected
my future years.”
Roger Conrad, May 2009 Graduate

Kathy Stokes said she knew she had two choices – to either go back to school or get another manufacturing job. “When Whirlpool closed, I was getting up there in age and I wanted to do something that would make a difference other than become a drone.” Kathy earned an Associate Degree in Office Administration with medical technology at Ivy Tech. She said it wasn’t easy at first – “You just had to get into the groove. It ended up being a good thing. All the hard work I put into it, and everything I had to do was well worth it. I now have something to prove I can do it.” Kathy is now employed at Ivy Tech as an administrative assistant for the School of Nursing. For the former Alcoa employees – Kathy says: “Why not go to school? What have you got to lose? Look at your skills – are you good at Arguing? Researching? Taking photos?– you can take something you like to do and find a career that uses those skills. You don’t need to be a brain to go to college – you just need to have one.”
Kathy Stokes, May 2013 Graduate

Alcoa Skills Summit

Leave a Reply

